Wednesday, 19 March 2008

New Committee

Our AGM on 18 March saw Paul Clarke and Lynette Falconer join the Committee - more details on our contacts page.

Our annual awards

Our annual awards were made on 17 March at the Conference dinner. The EIA Award for excellence in European Information provision (electronic sources category) went to Caselex, the "first premium information service offering the most important national and European case law linked to the EU's commercial areas of law, without need for multilingual and multinational legal skills".
Our Award for outstanding contribution to European Information was presented - though sadly not in person - to Margot Wallström, Vice-President of the European Commission and Commissioner for Institutional Relations and Communication Strategy.
The Helen Greer Memorial Prize was given to EIA Committee Member and UK EDC CoordinatorMargaret Watson, who is also Academic Services Librarian at the Bodleian Law Library.
There was also a surprise for out-going Chair Jenny Lawson, who received a special 'Above and Beyond' award, for all her hard work over the past eight years.